Office of the Secretary

Secretary Haaland speaks at a podium next to White House Press Secretary.

The Office of the Secretary includes the Immediate Office of the Secretary, certain secretarial officers, designated staff immediately serving those officials and offices which serve department-wide functions or perform program functions directly on behalf of the Secretary.

About the Secretary

Secretary Haaland leads an agency with more than 70,000 employees who are stewards for 20 percent of the nation’s lands, including national parks, monuments, wildlife refuges and other public lands. The Department oversees the responsible development of conventional and renewable energy supplies on public lands and waters, is the largest supplier and manager of water in the 17 western states and upholds trust responsibilities to the 574 federally recognized American Indian Tribes and Alaska Natives. 

Secretary Deb Haaland on Social Media